?

Log in

  | 0 - 18 |  
must be believed to be seen [userpic]
Dolfin Chocolat: Milk, with Hot Masala from India
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at January 12th, 2009 (03:43 pm)

Subject: Dolfin Chocolat: Milk, with Hot Masala from India
Whassit: A fancy Belgian chocolate bar!
Location: Found mine at my local Whole Foods, also online
Rating: 9.1 nom noms out of 10

Upon opening the bar, it smells like chocolate and then SPICE and then chocolate again, and then spice. I suspect that they're not kidding about the "Hot". My little 30g/1.058oz bar has 4 sections, so I snap one off -- it's a milk chocolate, but it's got a pretty good snap to it, if not much temper shine.

Tasting a piece, the spice hits my palate first -- this tastes like an Indian restaurant smells, an almost floral bouquet of cardamom, cinnamon, and pepper. The flavor of the chocolate only comes to the front as it begins to melt -- but it's so smooth, like a sip of creamy cocoa. Bars like this are why I'm getting into milk chocolate again after years of being a fiend for dark. It's a really big, full-mouth flavor, surprisingly not hot for as spicy as it smells, and so rich that I'm perfectly fine with eating only one quarter of the tiny bar at a go.

My only (and slight) qualms with the bar: It's got a very very slight grit to it due to the lovely spice content, so once in awhile I find myself chewing on a bit of spice -- but it's a texture thing, not a flavor thing, and overall the quality of the chocolate is so nice that I can forgive it. Also it's got a bit of an odd aftertaste to it from the lingering spices -- I think the cardamom's going to stay with me awhile. A drink of water mostly clears my palate.

If you like masala spices, and/or cardamom in general, you need to find a bar of this pretty much now. It's brilliant, feels indulgent, and the minibar is sized for preventing too much of a caloric splurge (~41 Calories/7.5g quarter section, or ~164 Calories/bar… for contrast, a Hershey's Kiss is ~26 Calories/4.6g kiss, and I have to eat 3 or 4 of those to feel sated). Though I found mine at my local Whole Foods, Google lists several online retailers who carry the Dolfin line. I bought this one, at a discount, for $1.69 (normally it'd be $2.20 or so).

I'd definitely try other bars from this confectioner -- and that's a good thing, 'cause I've got a bar of Dark with Pink Peppercorns from them that's next in line. ^^

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
new favorite comfort food from Amy's
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at July 29th, 2008 (02:02 pm)

Subject: Amy's Southern Meal with Cornbread & Beans with Sweet Potatoes and Greens
Whassit: Frozen microwaveable thingy
Location: A grocery store near you? I found it at Whole Foods
Rating: 8 deliciouses out of 10
Why: Comfort food in <6 minutes for <5 dollars and 340 calories

I try to eat vegetarian unless I'm really craving meat and/or someone went to the trouble to cook meat for me. The spongy particleboard-chicken and sad shrimpy shrimp featured in most frozen meals count as neither craveable nor homecooked, but I love the convenience of frozen meals, so I love Amy's. They're pricey for frozen meals, but still cheaper than going out to lunch and easier/yummier/healthier than making sandwiches.

One of Amy's new offerings is a Southern Meal of Cornbread & Beans with Sweet Potatoes and Greens, and guys, it rocks the freezer section.Collapse )

Tammy Lee [userpic]
Astro BioBest Calcium Yogourt
by Tammy Lee (tammylee)
at June 13th, 2007 (02:24 pm)

Astro BioBest Calcium Yogourt

Having recently returned from a vacation where I stuffed my face with hand made chocolates, wood-fired artisan breads, questionable meats, fast food, and pop I was horrified (but not surprised) to see I'd put on a few pounds. Out went my trusty, full fat yogurt and in came the low fat stuff. (I don't try really hard at this dieting thing.)

Now, my delicious Balkan Style regular yogurt is from Astro (and it truly is the most delicious plain yogurt you will ever eat) so I thought how bad could their low fat, flavoured, version be?

Dear people, this is not yogurt. This is a cold bacteria soup! My first impression was that I'd left it out on the counter too long, but no! It had been in the fridge for hours and it was still liquid and soupy. Unperturbed, I put away my spoon and drank it from the container. (Oh hush! My office has a door on it. No one needed to see.)

It's tasty in that it tastes like the picture on the container says it should. The strawberry is really quite nice, I wish YOP could have made a strawberry this tasty. There are chunks of strawberries (or peaches in the peach yogurt but no vanilla in the vanilla yogurt) that I think are actually strawberries!

Checking the list of ingredients I am baffled at how this yogurt could be so soupy with so much stuff in it! There is both cellulose gum AND cellulose gel in this thing! For someone who is used to her yogurt only having two ingredients, milk products and active bacteria, it seems strange. I see that strawberries are the second ingredient right after modified milk ingredients tho, so chances are these ARE real strawberries and not just tarted up bits of gelatin.

BUT this yogurt has stuff my regular stuff doesn't! After all, it's called BioBest CALCIUM. Right, well, doesn't all yogurt have calcium in it by virtue of being made from milk? Silly buggers. At least they give it a shot of Vitamins B2 & B12.

Location: Your local supermarket. I get mine from IGA.
Rating: As a cold soup, pretty tasty! As a yogurt? Failed to meet texture expectations. No need for a spoon if you are a bit adventurous. Three fermented batches of milk products out of five.

Fantom Fox [userpic]
two amazing websites
by Fantom Fox (fantomfox)
at October 9th, 2006 (09:26 pm)
Tags:

My first post here, but I've been watching all your reviews ^^ I have two websites that are just too awesome for words, and I must share! I hope you enjoy them as much as I do.

Subject: Riot Clit Shave (Right Click Save)
Whassit: one person's collection of cool/interesting/unsual images saved from various places on the internet, usually flickr and google.
Location: riotclitshave
Rating: ?skip=315 entries later....
Review: A picture is worth a thousand words, and this LJ user has one amazing tale to tell. Art images, news images, cosplay, nature, products for sale, commentary... whatever images you like to see, there's something for you here somewhere. If you like a taste of the random and the creative, this is definately the journal to watch. Or at least browse through. Careful though! Some of the images contained are NSFW (not safe for work) or for young eyes. Site is extremely image intensive.


Subject: Woot.com
Whassit: a website that sells just one electronic gadget per day at an amazing deal!
Location: http://www.woot.com
Rating: 9 of 10 bytes
Review: This website was shown to me by a coworker because on this one particular day, they were selling Logitech brand Playstation 2 controllers for only $5 each. This is a superior product at an incredible deal! So I ordered two. (These controllers are amazing. Perhaps I should review them next.) So what kind of electronic gadgets might you be looking for? A multi-format capable DVD player for only $30? Of course! A refurbished 250gig harddrive for only $50? Why not! A new item ever single day at midnight Central time.
Read the full FAQ here.

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
pumpkin BEER dudes
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at September 29th, 2006 (11:42 am)
Tags: ,

Subject: Post Road Pumpkin Ale
Whassit: Seasonal beer brewed with pumpkin and spices
Location: the local liquor store with the good beer selection (found in Atlanta at the Toco [Hills] Giant Package Store on Druid Hills and Lavista)
Rating: 99% awesome

I didn’t even know that Pumpkin Ale existed. I was browsing the Toco Giant wine racks for a friend’s birthday when I decided to check out the new seasonal beers, and there, lo and behold, sitting innocent between the last six-packs of Sweetwater Summer Hummer and whatever Sam Adams is passing off as premium this fall: pumpkin beers.

Man I love autumn.Collapse )

Bob Coleman [userpic]
FUNNY NONSENSE!
by Bob Coleman (mandingo)
at September 26th, 2006 (05:40 pm)
Tags:

Subject: "The Areas of My Expertise" by John Hodgman.
Whassit: An almanac of complete world knowledge compiled with instructive annotation and arranged in useful order and which include matters historical, matters literary, matters cryptozoological, hobo matters, food, drink & cheese (a kind of food) squirrels & lobsters & eels, haircuts, utopia, what will happen in the future, and most other subjects.
Location: You can get it at Barnes & Noble most likely, Amazon.com, and a quaint, hole-in-the-wall bookseller settled uncomfortably behind a dry cleaners in Boulder, Colorado that specializes in stocking varied editions, reprints, faded manuscripts, and alternate covers if this one book. If you give him a hobo nickel, he will give you a copy for free.
Rating:4 Truthful Lies out of 5.

One of the funniest ideas of this book is expressed at the introduction, in which Hodgman emphatically states that his book is full of lies that he made up, but because of this, his book is more true than if he had stockpiled it with facts. "Truth," Hodgman states, "may be stranger than fiction, but it is never as strange as lies. (Or, for that matter, as true.) Proof of which maxim is the fact that I just made it up."

The result of this intriguing idea is a dizzying array of completely nonsensical and often hilarious descriptions on such subjects as "Basics of Snow and Ice Warfare," "Secrets of the Mall of America," "Historys Worst Men's Haircuts," and a detailed description of the Hobo Movement over the past century, covering their language, graffiti, and whereabouts, and ending with the conclusion that after taking over the Federal Department of the Treasury, the hoboes eventually went to the stars, or perhaps another dimension.

Not unlike the subject matter, the quality of Hodgman's nonesense varies. There are various pieces which are fantastic, make virtually no sense whatsoever, but still had me chuckling as hard as any book before has caused me to do. There are a few duds, but most of the pieces are brief enough that any kind of downstroke is over quickly enough that you're already moving on to a newer, usually completely different subject.

I highly recommend getting the paperback edition, as it has an updated appendix of things learned since the original publishing in hardcover, and contains updates and further news that is as enjoyable to read as the rest of the book.

If you didn't know that the geiger counter was named after Hans Geigercounter, or you didn't know that there was a tunnel in the Mall of America leading from Camp Snoopy to the Pottery Barn that is lined with human skulls, or that Herbert Hoover created a cadre of fighting pnuematic robots whose schematics he stole from the mind of Nikola Tesla using a dream-thief machine, then this might be something you would be interested in.

It also contains 800 Hobo Names including "David No-Ears," "Gluttonous Slim," "Reynaldo Reynaldoson, Who Will one Day Kill His Father," and "Nick Nolte."

Jetbaby [userpic]
Inaugural Post: BPAL Reviews
by Jetbaby (jetbaby)
at September 22nd, 2006 (12:32 pm)

Hello, all - first time poster invited by the gracious ladykinbote. Odds are I'll be posting a lot of reviews of BPAL fragrances, but I hope the longer I'm here, the more comfortable I'll be about sharing my opinion on other things.

I've recently acquired a ton of 'imps' (aka .5 ml perfume samples) from BPAL. I'm not as articulate as others, nor do I think I have a refined enough nose to really fully explain the scents. But being inarticulate never stopped me from posting before - yeehaw!

Jolly RogerCollapse )

F5Collapse )

The Candy ButcherCollapse )

More fragrances with increasingly laughable names to come!

newtha [userpic]
Magical Shopping Arcade Abenobashi
by newtha (newtha)
at August 28th, 2006 (07:11 am)
current location: home
current mood: sleepy
current song: Keane

I saw the first 4 episodes of this yesterday and it was very entertaining. While the premise of the show is not truly that original it was a very tongue in cheek treatment of some gaming paradigms and pop culture settings, some of which I'm not super familiar with, but familiar enough that the situatial humor is really funny.
I would highly recommend it if you are:
a) familiar with video game strategies
b) a fan of early 80's pop culture, especially anime/asian themed
c) enjoy a bit of bouncing bewbies mixed with riske humor

I'm definitely signed up to see the next set of 4 episodes next week, I rather think I'm hooked. The fun thing is that there are episodes where the animation style changes for the entire episode and some where it's just spots chosen for emphasis.
I wasn't sure who was out there, but I didn't want to give too much plot away for fear of spoiling it for a new viewer since part of the fun is deciphering what exactly is going on. One thing not to miss is the pre-episode previews, it helps the viewer understand the relationship between the characters.

Malakym [userpic]
by Malakym (malakym)
at August 10th, 2006 (01:06 pm)

Subject: Ghiradelli's Twilight Delight
Whassit: Superdark 72% cocao chocolate
Location: Who knows! Everywhere, I got mine at Frys
Rating: 3/5 squares

So, picked it up at Fry's. I love dark chocolate, for reals. It's all done up in this shiny gold foil. Cost about three american dollars.

It's pretty big for a candy bar. about 3"x6"?

The chocolate itself is fairly waxy. It doesn't taste like anything when you bite into it, but as it melts (takes about five seconds, too much for instant choco-gratification-seeking-me), the chocolatey yummy comes out, tastes slightly raisiny and makes the roof of my mouth taste a little grainy.

Maybe 72% is a little too much cocao content.

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
mooore bpal
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at August 3rd, 2006 (11:33 am)

Subject: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab's Dana O'Shee
Whassit: a perfume oil for the ladies, by the ladies
Location: BPAL's online store under Bewitching Brews, also probably on ebay
Rating: 75% awesome

Lab description:
DANA O'SHEE
cut for folklore babble, this is the important part:Collapse ) Offerings of milk, honey and sweet grains were made to placate these creatures, and it is that the basis of the scent created in their name.

Review:Collapse )

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at August 1st, 2006 (08:24 pm)

Subject: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab's Kumiho
Whassit: a perfume oil for the ladies, by the ladies
Location: BPAL's online store under Diabolus, also probably on ebay
Rating: 70% awesome

KUMIHO
Nine-tailed fox demon of Korean lore who transforms into the visage of an irresistible beauty in order to seduce men and lead them to their doom. A sharp, biting blend of crisp white tea and ginger.

So says the Lab. Here's my walkthrough of the scent:Collapse )

Tammy Lee [userpic]
McDonald's
by Tammy Lee (tammylee)
at July 28th, 2006 (08:51 am)

Subject: Breakfast at McDonald's
Brief Description: Hashbrowns, Sausage Egg McMuffin, Yoghurt Parfait, Orange juice
Location: McDonald's
Rating: Two greasy spoons out of five
Review:Cut for lengthCollapse )

4NU815 [userpic]
Wasabi
by 4NU815 (4nu815)
at July 17th, 2006 (08:03 pm)

Subject: Wasabi
Description: "Quite possibly the best French language, English subtitled, Japanese action-comedy ever made." Or so says the tagline of the movie.
Director: Gerard Krawczyk
Writer: Luc Besson
Staring: Jean Reno
Location: I got it from Netflix. I am not sure which video stores might have it. If the place has a good selection of foriegn films check for it. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0281364/
Review: I am cutting for length and while I try not to spoil anything ('cause I hate when people do that for me) I am going to give a few details about the movie that not everyone may want to know.


But the movie is really good. A hint of funny, some good quality action sequences, a decent plot and a bad guy that would fit in with the recent Bond movies. It is definately a good choice if you are a fan of a good action flick.

Rating: I give this a score of 9.5 out of 10. It isn't perfect but it is pretty damn close.

4NU815 [userpic]
Bic Twin Select Razors for Sensative Skin
by 4NU815 (4nu815)
at July 16th, 2006 (09:08 pm)

Product: Bic Twin Select Razors for Sensative Skin
Description: Disposable razors with twin blades
Where to buy: For the love of all things holy don't seek these out

Description: These are a disposable razor that I found in a 10 pack. Two blades (as the twin would indicate) and no comfort strip (which is important as they make my face break out like I have contracted a nasty bit of the plague). You can probably find these at any grocery store or Wal Mart or conveinent store or any such place. They were cheap, hence why I bought them. I am short on cash.

http://www.bicworld.com/inter_us/bdd/product_men.asp?product_id=3

Review: As I mentioned before, I purchased these razors as I am kinda broke but at the same time it had been close to a week since I shaved last. And I was starting to look rather rough. So I lathered up and started to shave. Well it didn't take long before my bathroom resembled something from a Robert Rodriguez movie and my face felt like I had decided to place it into a meat grinder. These razors are not to be trusted. There is a reason they are cheap and that is because they only remove hair from your face by removing the skin out from under the hair. And it doesn't even do a neat job of that. It isn' t a uniform removal of skin, it kind of makes you look like you got into a fight with a litter of blood-thirsty, rabid, pissed off kittens (you know they have such sharp claws) while both hands were tied behind your back and someone had knocked you to the ground first. What I am trying to say here is, I still have facial hair tuffs all over that I can't seem to shave off properly and meanwhile other areas of my face are cut and bleeding horribly. And I am not talking the kind of bleeding that a little piece of toilet paper will help. They are D-day Landing Scene of Saving Private Ryan type injuries. Okay... not that bad... but OW! My advice is to stay clear of these things and spend the extra few bucks on decent razors. These really aren't worth the savings.

Score: I give these tools of the Marque de Salles a 3 out of 10. And I am only being that generous because I am afraid that if I am not, the remaining 9 of them will come at me while I sleep tonight.

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
bpal's Fae perfume oil
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at July 15th, 2006 (09:01 pm)

Subject: Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab's Fae
Whassit: a perfume oil for the ladies, by the ladies
Location: BPAL's online store under Bewitching Brews, also probably on ebay
Rating: 88% awesome

Okay guys I promise that not ALL my reviews will be for prissy beauty/bath products. Probably!

FAE
A brilliant, ethereal scent: white musk, bergamot, heliotrope, peach and oakmoss. So says the Lab, and I reply:Collapse )

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
Lush bath bomb review!
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at July 13th, 2006 (03:35 pm)
Tags: ,

Subject: Lush's Mr. Butterball bath bomb
Whatssit: Fizzy thing you put in your bath for purposes of fun and vanity
Location: Wild in the fields stores of North America and Europe, and on the Lush website
Rating: 65% awesome

Lush is a fun, eco-friendly, not-too-overpriced bath product company originally out of the UK. I am a Lush fangirl. (Lushie? Lushite? Lushuginah? I'm a lush for Lush.) Bath bombs (supposedly a Lush invention) are unsoapy spheroids of fizzy fun that you drop in your bathwater to scent it and you, and possibly to make your skin nicer/more moisturized/more glittery. Mr. Butterball is the Holiday Season edition of Lush's regular Butterball bath bomb, which basically means that it's half an ounce smaller and shaped like a cute little snowman instead of the usual spheroid.

The Butterball is supposedly supposed to be a very light-scented bomb to begin with. Mr. Butterball, being smaller (all their molded Holiday editions seem to end up smaller, which seems extremely silly to me as they're also more expensive) has pretty much no scent at all, aside from a teeeny bit of spicy/cocoabuttery sweetness which you really have to get your nose close to the water to notice. However, both Butterballs' real draw are the bits of cocoa butter they're packed with, which your skin will soak up in the tub, leaving you all moisturized (and a wee bit slimey, in a nice way). No lotion necessary after a Butterball bath! So if you're looking for practically no scent but lots of moisturization, this bath bomb is perfect. However, if you expect to be entertained in your tub, you'll have to either bring a friend or a second bath product.

p.s. -- Watch yourself when climbing out of the tub. For some reason bathtubs get slippery when you coat them in cocoa butter, and maybe if you're sleepy you might not think of that beforehand. LESSONS LEARNED.

Pesha [userpic]
TV on DVD: The Dead Zone
by Pesha (pesha)
at July 12th, 2006 (09:27 am)
current mood: geeky

Subject: Television Series on DVD
Specifics: The Dead Zone from Lions Gate Films
Brief Description: Seasons 1-4 on dvd
Location: I got mine from Sam's Club, but you can basically get it from any store that has a decent entertainment department
Rating: 75% Awesome

Review!Collapse )

must be believed to be seen [userpic]
welcome!
by must be believed to be seen (ladykinbote)
at July 11th, 2006 (03:14 am)

In case your eyeballs haven't been bombarded with the phrase enough for it to have sunk in, you're visiting we_review_stuff, a livejournal community cleverly titled after its main purpose: collecting reviews of all kinds of stuff. If you'd like to share something you enjoy with the rest of the internet, this is a good place to do it! Eventually, this should also be a good place to discover all kinds of rad things that you never knew existed. This will likely be a bad place for your bank account and/or credit balance.

You have to join the community in order to post, but everyone's welcome to lurk and comment! Before you join, please take a quick look at the community guidelines on our Info page. I'll be your friendly neighborhood Mod, and dudes I'm totally serious about the badgers.

In addition to reviews, please feel free to post requests for reviews! Like, let's say you really want a new digital camera, or a manga series to start reading, or the best sock yarn money can buy, but no one's posted a review for it yet. Someone can probably help!

Have any questions? Suggestions? Introductions? Plugs for your own stuff? Click that little blue pencil reply link and get commenty! Or just join up and start reviewing!

  | 0 - 18 |